ArthritisHelpTips.com
AlternativesToGelatin
CookingWTofu
DoesItMatter
HealthfulVegetarian
NonMeatProtein
ThreeHealthAdvantages
TopFiveNutrients
VeganCake
VegansAndDairy
VegansAndEggs
VegansAndWool
VeganVsVegetarian
VegetarianCheese
VegetarianChild
VegetarianHoliday
VegetarianInfant
VegetariansAndSugar
VegetariansLeatherSilk
VegetarianStatistics
WhyBecomeAVegetarian

VeganCake

How To Make A Vegan Cake

Do you have a strict vegan in the family who
has a birthday or celebration coming up that traditionally
calls for cake? If youíre not familiar with vegan dietary
practices, you might not know what vegans do not eat.
Even worse, you might have no idea how to replace what
they do not eat.

But don't worry. In a few short paragraphs, Iíll explain
exactly what you need to make the perfect cake
for your vegan friend or relative. And best of all, no one
will be able to taste the difference.

Letís start with what strict vegans do not eat.
They do not eat eggs. They do not drink milk.
They donít eat certain types of sugar. They donít
eat butter. And they donít eat frosting.

Eggs can be replaced by "EnerG Egg Replacer," which you
can purchase at many grocery stores. The box will explain
how much replacer to use per egg.

Cowís milk can be replaced by organic rice milk, which
doesnít contain any animal byproducts. You can buy rice
milk at your local grocery store, too.

Many vegans do not consume sugar, either, because it is
often whitened by animal bone char. You can avoid sugar
that is whitened by bone char by purchasing "unbleached"
sugar, sugar in the raw, or beet sugar. There are some cane
sugars, too, which were not whitened using bone char,
but they hard to distinguish from others, unless you know
the exact name brand.

Strict vegans will not eat food made with butter, either.
If your cake recipe calls for butter, you can simply
replace it with margarine or vegetable shortening.

In addition to butter, sugar, milk, and eggs, strict
vegans also will not eat dairy frosting. If your recipe
calls for frosting, you can look for a similar flavor of
"non-dairy" frosting or you can make your own, replacing
butter with margarine.

And there you have it: an ingredient replacement key
for your vegan cake. Simply follow the key, replace vegan
-unfriendly items on your recipe, and your cake will be
perfectly fit for even the strictest vegetarian!

Google